MTV Africa Music Awards 2014 Nominees Revealed:

By Deborah Ayoade

After a three-year hiatus, MTV Base officially announced the return of the MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMAS).

The awards ceremony, which was first launched in 2008 and held in Abuja, Nigeria, took its three years leave due to the outcome of the economic recession. Consequently meaning that the last time the award show made a debut dates back 2010, which again took place in Nigeria.

MTV Base VJs Nomuzi Mabena and Sizwe Dhlomo unveiled this year’s nominees at a swanky nomination party hosted at Sands, Johannesburg, South Africa on Wednesday 16th April 2014.

As witnessed in pervious years, Nigerian Artist once again dominated the list of nominees for this year MAMAs, tallying with 23 nominations in total. Confirming that Nigerian music has actively swept over the continent of Africa.

A big congratulation is in order for Nigerian music artist Davido, who received most of the nominations that put Nigeria in the forefront of the MAMAs. Landing an outstanding four nominations in the categories of; Best male, Best collaboration, Artiste of the Year and Song of the Year. Not falling far behind is the Nigerian duo Psquare with an amazing three nominations for; Best Group, Artiste of the Year and Best Song of the Year

Nigerians can also be found representing in the non-music category. As the likes of Nigerian author, Chimamanda Adichie and Nollywood actress, Omotola Jalade Ekeinde received nominations for Personality of the Year.

To cast your vote for the MAMAs log on to, votes will be taken up on till 4th June 2014.The award ceremony will be held on 7th June in Durban, South Africa and will air live on MTV Base and MTV.

Below find the full list of nominees for each category:



Best Male:

Anselmo Ralph (Angola)

Davido (Nigeria)

Diamond (Tanzania)

Donald (South Africa)

Wizkid (Nigeria)


Best Female:

Arielle T (Gabon)

Chidinma (Nigeria)

DJ C’ndo (South Africa)

Efya (Ghana)

Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)


Best Group:

Big Nuz (South Africa)

Mafikizolo (South Africa)

Mi Casa (South Africa)

P Square (Nigeria)

Sauti Sol (Kenya)


Best New Act:

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Heavy K (South Africa)

Phyno (Nigeria)

Stanley Enow (Cameroon)

Uhuru (South Africa)


Best Live Act:

2face (Nigeria)

Fally Ipupa (DRC)

Flavour (Nigeria)

Dr Malinga (South Africa)

Zakes Bantwini (South Africa)


Best Collaboration:

Amani ft Radio and Weasel – ‘Kiboko Changu’ (Kenya/Uganda)

Diamond feat Davido – ‘Number One’ (Remix) (Tanzania/Nigeria)

Mafikizolo feat May D – ‘Happiness’ (South Africa/Nigeria)

R2bees feat Wizkid – ‘Slow Down’ (Ghana/Nigeria)

Uhuru feat DJ Buckz, Oskido, Professor, Yuri Da Cunha – ‘Y-tjukutja’ (South Africa/Angola)


Artist of the Year:

Davido (Nigeria)

Mafikizolo (South Africa)

Mi Casa (South Africa)

P Square (Nigeria)

Uhuru (South Africa)


Song of the Year:

Davido- ‘Skelewu’ (Nigeria)

DJ Clock feat Beatenberg – ‘Pluto’ (Remember Me) (South Africa)

DJ Ganyani feat FB – ‘Xigubu’ (South Africa)

DJ Kent feat The Arrows –‘Spin My World Around’ (South Africa)

Dr Sid feat Don Jazzy – ‘Surulere’ (Nigeria)

KCee – ‘Limpopo’ (Nigeria)

Mafikizolo feat Uhuru ‘Khona’ (South Africa)

Mi Casa- ‘Jika’ (South Africa)

P Square – ‘Personally’ (Nigeria)

Yuri Da Cunha -‘Atchu Tchu Tcha’ (Angola)


Best Hip Hop:

AKA (South Africa)

Ice Prince (Nigeria)

Khuli Chana (South Africa)

Olamide (Nigeria)

Sarkodie (Ghana)


Best Pop:

Danny K (South Africa)

Fuse ODG (Ghana)

Goldfish (South Africa)

LCNVL (South Africa)

Mathew Mole (South Africa)


Best Alternative:

Gangs of Ballet (South Africa)

Michael Lowman (South Africa)

Nakhane Toure (South Africa)

Parlotones (South Africa)

Shortstraw (South Africa)


Best Francophone:

Arielle T (Gabon)

Espoir 2000 (Ivory Coast)

Ferre Gola (DRC)

Toofan (Togo)

Youssoupha (Congo)


Best Lusophone:

Anselmo Ralph (Angola)

JD (Angola)

Lizha James (Mozambique)

Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)

Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)




Personality of the Year:

Chimamanda Adiche (Nigeria)

Omotola Jalade Ekeinde (Nigeria)

Trevor Noah (South Africa)

Lupita Nyong’o (Kenya)

Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire)


Transform Today by Absolut

Anisa Mpungwe (Tanzania)

Clarence Peters (Nigeria)

Leti Arts (Ghana)

Rasty (South Africa)

Related News

3 Responses

Leave a Reply


  1. WORLD STAR HIPLIFE | African Hiplife & Urban Media | EXCLUSIVE MUSIC, VIDEOS & ENTERETAINMENT NEWS – Chris Attoh to MC the 4th edition of GHANA meets NAIJA
  2. AFRIMMA 2014: Full List Of Nominees | StarkNigeria
  3. Brazil 2014: UK analysts tip Nigeria, Ghana as Africa’s favourites |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Download NL Magazine Latest Issue

Naija Living UK is a subsidiary of Talk Media Ltd.
Registered in England and Wales.